International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2020 shortlist announcement date

The shortlist for the International Prize for Arabic Fiction 2020 will be announced at a press conference in Marrakesh between 11-11.30am (10-10.30am GMT / 2-2.30pm GST) on Tuesday 4 February 2020.

Comprising six novels, it will be chosen by the 2020 judging panel from the longlist of 16 novels all published in Arabic between July 2018 and June 2019. The judging panel is chaired by Muhsin al-Musawi and includes Pierre Abi Saab, Reem Magued, Amin Zaoui and Viktoria Zarytovskaya.

The full 2020 longlist, listed in alphabetical order by author surname, is as follows:

Author Title Country of origin Publisher
Rasha Adly The Last Days of the Pasha Egypt Arab Scientific Publishers
Abdelouahab Aissaoui The Spartan Court Algeria Dar Mim
Magbool Al-Alawi Seferberlik Saudi Arabia Dar Al Saqi
Khalil Alrez The Russian Quarter Syria Difaf Publishing
Hassan Aourid Al-Mutanabbi’s Rabat Morocco Al-Markez al-Thaqafi al-Arabi
Salim Barakat What About Rachel, the Jewish Lady? Syria Arabic Institute for Research and Publishing
Jabbour Douaihy The King of India Lebanon Dar Al Saqi
Mohammed Eissa al-Mu’adab The Golden Hamam Tunisia Mesaa
Aisha Ibrahim The War of the Gazelle Libya Tripoli Scientific Bookshop
Azhar Jerjis Sleeping in the Cherry Field Iraq Dar al-Rafidain
Samir Kacimi The Stairs of Trolar Algeria Editions Barzakh
Khaled Khalifa No-one Prayed Over Their Graves Syria Hachette Antoine/Naufal
Said Khatibi Firewood of Sarajevo Algeria Al-Ikhtilef
Alia Mamdouh The Tank Iraq Al-Mutawassit
Bachir Mefti The Mingling of the Seasons Algeria Al-Ikhtilef
Youssef Ziedan Fardeqan – the Detention of the Great Sheikh Egypt Dar al-Shorouk

The International Prize for Arabic Fiction (IPAF) is the most prestigious and important literary prize in the Arab world. The annual prize is given to a novel in Arabic which the judges consider to be the best of that year. Its aim is to reward excellence in contemporary Arabic creative writing and to encourage the readership of high quality Arabic literature internationally through the translation and publication of winning and shortlisted novels in other languages.

The 2019 winner was Hoda Barakat’s The Night Mail.

The Prize is sponsored by the Department of Culture and Tourism – Abu Dhabi (DCT) and run with the support, as its mentor, of the Booker Prize Foundation in London.

For further information about the prize, please visit:
Instagram @arabicfictionprize
Twitter @Arabic_Fiction

If you are based in Marrakesh and would like to attend the shortlist press conference,
or wish to arrange an interview with a spokesperson, please contact
Chloe Davies and Laura Steele at Four Culture:

[email protected]  / +44 (0) 20 3763 4449

[email protected]  / +44 (0) 20 3697 4241

Comments are closed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!